The Curriculum

The IB curriculum is a demanding course of study in the 11th and 12th grades.  IB Diploma Programme students must choose one subject from each of the five groups (1 to 5), and must also choose either an arts subject from group 6, or a second subject from groups 1 to 5. DP subjects can be taken at higher level or standard level. At least three and not more than four subjects are taken at higher level (240 teaching hours), while the other subjects are taken at standard level (150 teaching hours). The program consists courses in the following six subject groups:

  1. Studies in Language and Literature
  2. Language Acquisition
  3. Individuals and Societies
  4. Sciences
  5. Mathematics
  6. The Arts & Electives

Archbishop Spalding High School Current IB Course Offerings

  1. English Literature (HL)
  2. Spanish B (SL) OR French B (SL)
  3. History of the Americas (HL)
  4. Environmental Systems and Societies (SL)
  5. Mathematical Studies (SL)
  6. Visual Arts (HL) OR Economics (HL)

What other requirements does the IB DP have?

The IB DP has three core requirements that are included to broaden the educational experience and challenge students to apply their knowledge and understanding.

 The extended essay is a requirement for students to engage in independent research through an in-depth study of a question relating to one of the subjects they are studying.

 Theory of knowledge (TOK) is a course designed to encourage each student to reflect on the nature of knowledge by critically examining ways of knowing and different kinds of knowledge.

 Creativity, activity, service (CAS) requires that students actively learn from the experience of doing real tasks beyond the classroom.



8080 New Cut Road
Severn, MD 21144
410.969.9105 Tel
410.969.1026 Fax